Hi everyone, I have an old Google account that I don’t use anymore, and I’m thinking about deleting it. But I’m worried I may have used that email address for government services or other important accounts in the past, and I don’t want to overlook something that could cause problems later.

What should I check before deleting it? Do you have similar experience?

  • imminent_nebula@lemmy.ca
    link
    fedilink
    arrow-up
    1
    ·
    8 hours ago

    Appreciate it thank you! So basically in either setup syncthing just checks for an updated version of the file on any device and replaces the old versions on all devices? Do I have this right?:

    A simple 2 device setup would be easy with a p2p structure, but can get convoluted when adding more as they all then need to connect to eachother. If I have multiple devices (which I do) a star-shaped structure means each device only has to connect to the main server device.

    In the p2p example, the phone adds a new password, the notebook sees the change through syncthing monitoring the phones folder, and replaces it’s file with the new one. If I change something on the phone when I’m out of network, the change is local and works fine on the phone (but obviously wouldnt on the notebook) then syncs when i get back on the network and updates the notebooks file.

    In the star-shaped structure, all devices point to the server file. I change something on network on my phone, the server file then sees the change and updates, then the other devices do the same. If I change something off network, again the same as the p2p example with one extra step; once back on network the server sees the change on the phone, updates, then the other devices update to that.

    Is that the jist of it?

    Edit: So basically if I wait for my laptop, I set it up, then on my phone for example I set syncthing to the folder on the laptop, then change the local Keepass folder to the syncthing laptopo folder?

    • LewdLemon@sh.itjust.works
      link
      fedilink
      arrow-up
      1
      ·
      7 hours ago

      Accurate, all of it. You’ve got it.

      Two more (nice) things:

      1. (Assuming a star-shaped setup with a server at the centre) If you happen to make changes on the phone and another client device simultaneously (meaning: there is a collision of versions, since both have changes to write), Syncthing normally creates a “conflicted copy”. Whenever you see these files, you know that some changes couldn’t be merged and need to manually untangle the changes. No biggy normally.
      2. Syncthing does support versioning, meaning: Your server can store several versions of the same database file. That way, if you happen to accidentally delete some entries from your DB, you can revert back to an earlier copy of the file.